UNB's 2023 3MT (Three-Minute Thesis)

Author: Andrea

Posted on Mar 20, 2023

Category: Student Stories , News and Events

You are warmly invited to attend UNB's 2023 Three-Minute Thesis (3MT) challenge hosted by the School of Graduate Studies and the Graduate Student Association.

UNB will be hosting our local annual Three-Minute Thesis (3MT) competition during the afternoon of March 24, 2023. It will be an in-person event held in Fredericton at the Wu Centre in the Chancellor's Room from 12:30-3pm.

The Three Minute Thesis (3MT) is an internationally recognized research communication competition. Participants have three minutes to deliver a compelling presentation on their thesis research for a general audience using a single, static slide: https://www.unb.ca/gradstudies/current/resources/student-development/threeminutethesis/index.html

The three judges will be:

Mayor of Fredericton, Kate Rogershttps://www.fredericton.ca/en/city-hall/city-council/kate-rogers

Former Assistant Dean of SGS, and former President of the Heart and Stroke Foundation's NB Board of Directors, Dr. Mary McKennahttps://blogs.unb.ca/newsroom/2016/03/kinesiology-professor-named-president-of-heart-and-stroke-foundation-of-new-brunswick-s-board-of-directors.php

Divison Manager of Investment Group Financial Services, Devansh Bavishihttps://advisor.investorsgroup.com/en/devansh_bavishi

Winners of the UNB 3MT competition will participate in a regional event with all Atlantic universities, with the finalists invited to attend the national competition in the fall.

Please come out and support the participating graduate students! A list of this year's participants follows:

3MT schedule:


  1. Amy MacArthur (Interdisciplinary Studies)
  2. Rina Guxholli (Biological Sciences)
  3. (Chemistry)
  4. Bradley Shoebottom (History)
  5. Carlos Duenas (Electrical & Computer Engineering)
  6. Hamidreza Parsimehr (Chemistry)



  1. Charles Ferris (History)
  2. Ousamma Hamza (Interdisciplinary Studies)
  3. Kelton Ireland (Mechanical Engineering)
  4. Anjana Gayathri Arunachalam (Electrical & Computer Engineering)
  5. Phillip Lunga (Interdisciplinary Studies)
  6. Amer El-Samman (Chemistry)



  1. Rosie Leggott (English)
  2. Deepty Sarder (Economics)
  3. Faezeh Bashiri (Electrical & Computer Engineering)
  4. Alex Dandridge (Interdisciplinary Studies)
  5. Jennifer Moore (Psychology)
  6. Alexander Ani (Earth Sciences)

Judges' deliberations: 1:45-2:30

Prize ceremony 3:00

We hope to see you there!