Supreme Court of Canada Justice Thomas Cromwell to Judge 58th Harrison Shield

Author: Ed Bowes

Posted on Sep 11, 2020

Category: Students

The 58th edition of UNB Law’s in-house moot will be like no other in the law school’s history. In addition to the Chief Justice of the Court of Queen’s Bench, The Hon. Tracey DeWare (LLB ’94) and The Hon. Madame Justice Kathleen Quigg (LLB ’89) of the New Brunswick Court of Appeal, former Supreme Court Justice Thomas Cromwell has agreed to help judge this year’s competition.

“It is always such a pleasure to see talented young lawyers at work and to assist in their professional training,” said Justice Cromwell. “Mooting sharpens analytical skills and starts to develop the ‘on your feet’ capability needed for so many areas of legal practice. I hope the mooters work hard in their preparation and then enjoy the experience of the cut and thrust of oral advocacy.”

The Hon. William Henry Harrison Moot Court Competition will take place Monday, Sept. 21 at 5 p.m. This year’s participants are Alden Spencer and Lucas Savini representing the appellants, and Aaron Connolly and Matthew Smith, representing the respondents. All of them are looking forward to arguing in front of this powerhouse team of judges!

The 2020 Harrison Shield Problem will be based on recent the Supreme Court of Canada decision, Uber Technologies Inc. v. Heller, 2020 SCC 16.

Delivering the Harrison Moot virtually

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the moot will be presented virtually through a live stream. We have partnered with Arbitration Place Virtual, a company specializing in the delivery of secure eHearing services.

Join the event   Moot problem

Password: 034406

About the competition

Each year, students who receive the top grades in the oral advocacy component of the first-year mooting program at UNB Law are invited to participate in the William Henry Harrison Moot. The two students who demonstrate the best oral advocacy skills during the competition are presented with the coveted Harrison Shield. Presented to the Faculty of Law in 1962 by Mr. James G. Harrison in memory of his brother, the Shield stands as a fitting tribute to the distinguished career of The Hon. William Henry Harrison, DSO, LLD, Justice of the Supreme Court of New Brunswick and Dean of the Faculty of Law at UNB from 1947-1955.