UNB News
News and stories from one of Canada’s top universities

UNB to install new president and honour three outstanding professors

Author: UNB Newsroom

Posted on Oct 15, 2019

Category: UNB Saint John , UNB Fredericton

The University of New Brunswick will install its 19th president, recognize three outstanding faculty members and graduate more than 500 students at its fall convocation ceremonies.

The 65th Convocation in Fredericton will take place on Thursday, Oct. 17, at 4:30 p.m. at The Richard J. CURRIE CENTER. The 37th Fall Convocation Ceremony in Saint John will be held on Friday, Oct. 18, at 4:30 p.m. at the Imperial Theatre.

Installation of the president

Dr. Paul J. Mazerolle will officially be installed as UNB’s 19th president and vice-chancellor in Fredericton on Oct. 17. The installation will include the official swearing in of Dr. Mazerolle by the Lieutenant-Governor of New Brunswick, Brenda Murphy, as well as the official robing, the first time the president will formally don the robes of office. The installation will be confirmed at the Saint John ceremony on Oct. 18.

Before coming to UNB, Dr. Mazerolle was pro vice-chancellor of arts, education and law and the director of the violence research and prevention program at Griffith University in Queensland, Australia. His teaching and research have been recognized internationally with several awards and extensive citations. Dr. Mazerolle obtained his bachelor of arts in sociology from UNB (1989). He completed a master’s degree in criminal justice at Northeastern University (1990) and his PhD in criminology at the University of Maryland (1995).

Award recipients

At UNB Fredericton's 65th Convocation, a University of New Brunswick Award for Excellence in Research and two Dr. Allan P. Stuart Memorial Awards for Excellence in Teaching will be presented.

R. Allen Curry of the faculties of science and forestry and environmental management will receive the University of New Brunswick Award for Excellence in Research.

This award is intended to honour faculty who are representative of outstanding research, scholarly, or creative achievements at UNB. The University of New Brunswick Award for Excellence in Research promotes and celebrates an environment that supports intellectual inquiry and discovery.

Dr. Curry joined UNB in 1995 and is currently a professor of biology and forestry and environmental management. A scholar in aquatic ecology and ecohydrology, his research interests include freshwater, estuary, and coral reef sciences including the ecology of fishes, food webs, and rivers and their landscapes.

Kelly Miles of the faculty of science will receive a Dr. Allan P. Stuart Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching.

The Dr. Allan P. Stuart Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching recognizes outstanding teaching on the basis of nominations from students and faculty members at UNB.

Ms. Miles is a senior teaching associate in UNB’s department of biology. Known for her enthusiastic teaching style, Ms. Miles supports students both in and outside of the classroom, helping them develop confidence in their skills and helping them to prepare for future careers. She invests valuable time with all of her students and fosters their learning not just in the subject she is teaching, but also in their personal growth.

Leah Bidlake of the faculty of computer science will also receive a Dr. Allan P. Stuart Memorial Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Ms. Bidlake believes in creating a culture of life-long learning through participation in seminars and workshops, and by continuing to further her education. She continually explores new teaching methods that engage students and provide opportunities for students to practice and apply their knowledge.

The University of New Brunswick is Canada’s oldest English-language university. Founded in 1785, the multi-campus institution has a rich history and a dynamic focus on innovation, experiential learning and entrepreneurship. UNB has roughly 10,500 students from nearly 100 countries. UNB courses are offered online and at partner institutions around the world.

Media contact: Kelsey Pye