UNB News
News and stories from one of Canada’s top universities

2019 Sir Howard Douglas Scholars inducted at UNB

Author: UNB Newsroom

Posted on Mar 26, 2019

Category: UNB Fredericton , UNB Saint John

Involvement in their university and community plus excellent grades have earned nine University of New Brunswick students the distinction of being inducted into the Sir Howard Douglas Society.

The award recipients volunteer their time and talent in a number of ways, both locally and internationally, and are all dean’s list students.

“The Sir Howard Douglas Scholars have distinguished themselves here at UNB in many different ways, from the classroom and beyond,” says UNB President Eddy Campbell. “Individually, they are outstanding, as a group they are off the charts. We can’t wait to see what they will do and how they will help to change the world.”

Nominated by their faculties, the scholars must have completed at least two years of their bachelor’s degree program, achieved academic excellence and actively participated in co-curricular or extracurricular activities.

Members of the Sir Howard Douglas Society have the opportunity to participate in special university events and become part of a network of outstanding students. As the honour society grows each year, new members will have the opportunity to meet and interact with past recipients of the Sir Howard Douglas Award.

Born in Scotland, Sir Howard Douglas served as lieutenant governor of New Brunswick from 1823 to 1831. During his term, he encouraged development, sought support for native peoples, improved communications and promoted education. Sir Howard was a founder and the first chancellor of King’s College Fredericton, predecessor to UNB.

Established in 2006, the Sir Howard Douglas Society of Scholars has 237 members, including this year’s inductees.

Media contact: Heather Campbell

Photo: University of New Brunswick students were inducted into the Sir Howard Douglas Society for their academic achievement and active participation in extracurricular activities. Back row (L-R): Emily Tingley, Seshu Iyengar, Austin Henderson, Matthew Hynes, Jeremy Slayter. Front row (L-R): Daniel Hanscom, Lucas Hallett, Herbert Adutwum-Bempah, Vaishnavi Sai Anupindi