UNB News
News and stories from one of Canada’s top universities

UNB athletes named national scholars for 2018-19

Author: UNB Newsroom

Posted on Sep 20, 2019

Category: UNB Saint John

Eighteen members of the UNB Saint John varsity athletics program received Canadian Collegiate Athletic Association (CCAA) Academic National Scholar Awards for the 2018-19 season.

  • Sam Anstey, basketball
  • Hunter Gray, basketball
  • Hanna Grossman, basketball
  • Alannah Hansen, basketball
  • Kathryn Magee, basketball
  • Alexander Allison, soccer
  • Harold Oh, soccer
  • Logan Perry, soccer
  • Luke Watson, soccer
  • Katrina Carroll, soccer
  • Kaitlin Casey, soccer
  • Dayna Alexander, volleyball
  • Maggie Birney, volleyball
  • Emilie Diesbourg, volleyball
  • Jenna DeGooyer, volleyball
  • Megan Kozak, volleyball
  • Montanna Meyer, volleyball
  • Kaitlin Sears, volleyball

The National Scholar Award is designed to recognize the outstanding academic accomplishments of CCAA student athletes.

"Playing on a varsity team and attaining a 3.7 grade point average is not something for everyone,” said David Munro, athletics director at UNB Saint John. “These students have worked hard to reach this level of achievement and we are very proud of them."

To be recognized, a student athlete must achieve honours standing at their institution in the current academic year. From last year's 94 CCAA member institutions, 1,111 student athletes were awarded the prestigious honour in their pursuit of academic and athletic excellence.

Maggie Birney, Kaitlin Casey, Jenna DeGooyer and Logan Perry and were also named CCAA Academic All-Canadians.

Honourees must attain academic honours at their institution in addition to being named to their member conference All-Star team (first or second) in soccer, volleyball, or basketball.

Media contact: Heather Campbell

Photo L-R: Maggie Birney, Jenna DeGooyer, Logan Perry and Kaitlin Casey.