UNB News
News and stories from one of Canada’s top universities

Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholarship recipients chosen for 2019-20

Author: UNB Newsroom

Posted on Sep 30, 2019

Category: UNB Fredericton , UNB Saint John

For almost two decades, the Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholarships have saluted important accomplishments and outstanding leadership by top high school students who intend to pursue post-secondary studies at the University of New Brunswick in Saint John.

Sandra Irving, a proud alumna of the university’s Saint John campus (BA’95, DLitt ‘09), established the scholarship and played an instrumental role in directing the fundraising activities that led to the presentation of the first award in 2000.

On June 18, Arthur and Sandra hosted the annual Primrose Scholars luncheon at their home in Saint John, bringing together former recipients and the new scholars.

“We have enjoyed meeting these Primrose Scholars and watching them develop academically and as leaders in the community,” Sandra Irving said. “We are proud of the impact we’ve had on these students and their families.”

Jayme Glaspy of Rothesay, Payton Gonzalez of Saint John, Madelyn O'Hara of Saint John and Dominic Rocca of Saint John are this year’s recipients of the award, valued at $40,000 ($10,000 per year for four years).

“Jayme, Payton, Madelyn and Dominic have played such exemplary roles in their schools and are wonderful examples of students who will not only shine in their chosen academic pursuits but also play strong roles for the greater community by giving back in a wide variety of volunteer areas,” said Sandra Irving.

“These four outstanding students will join a group of 29 former Primrose scholars who have formed an impressive mentorship program, one that features great collaboration, support and friendships. Arthur and I are delighted and so proud of this year's recipients and all the Primrose scholars.”

Dr. Paul J. Mazerolle, UNB’s president and vice-chancellor, thanked Arthur and Sandra for their thoughtful support, another example of the couple’s deep commitment to the university and the community.

“We are thrilled and truly appreciative that Arthur and Sandra Irving have made such a significant investment in the students on our campus,” he said. “Their display of generosity is a true reflection of their love and commitment to our community, through this scholarship that recognizes and promotes volunteer engagement and academic success.”

The 2019-20 scholars come to UNB Saint John with a history of exemplary achievements as community leaders, athletes and students.

Jayme Glaspy, a Rothesay High School student, is an active volunteer and leader, having travelled on a mission trip to the Dominican Republic and served on the executive of the New Brunswick Student Representative Council and her school’s student council. Athletically, she plays volleyball with numerous teams.

Payton Gonzalez, a St. Malachy’s Memorial High School student, is also an avid community volunteer through her involvement with Horizon Health, the Salvation Army and Diabetes Canada. She also performs with the school’s choir and participated in the school’s musical.

Madelyn O'Hara, a Harbour View High School student, volunteers for Big Brothers Big Sisters of Canada, serving as a mentor. She is a flautist for the high school band and as an athlete, she is a goalie in field hockey. She is also a strong rugby player.

Dominic Rocca, another Harbour View High School Student, is a mentor with Big Brothers Big Sisters of Canada and a member of youth organizations including MeToWe and Best Buddies. Athletically, he plays Midget AAA hockey and is also a member of the rowing team.

The Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholarship is designed to support students entering their first year at UNB’s Saint John campus. It recognizes academic achievement, community involvement and athletic leadership.

Primrose Scholarship recipients have a history of great achievement and they have gone on to become doctors, engineers, nurses, scientists, business leaders, artists, and community leaders.

Media contact: Kelsey Pye