UNB Alumni
Telling our #ProudlyUNB stories

Four UNBers appointed to the Order of Canada

Author: UNB Alumni

Posted on Jan 13, 2022

Category: Inspiring Stories , UNB Fredericton , UNB Saint John

Her Excellency the Right Honourable Mary Simon, Governor General of Canada, announced 135 appointments to the Order of Canada. The new appointees include two Companions (C.C.), 39 Officers (O.C.), one honorary Member and 93 Members (C.M.). 

The Order of Canada is one of our country’s highest civilian honours. Its Companions, Officers and Members take to heart the motto of the Order: DESIDERANTES MELIOREM PATRIAM ("They desire a better country"). 

The four UNBers listed below were invested as Members into the Order. 

Dr. Graham Farquharson (Class of ’64, DSc’11)- Toronto, Ontario 

For his innovative leadership operating one of Canada’s most northern Arctic mines, and for his philanthropic support of community organizations. 

Dr. Lawson A.W. Hunter, Q.C. (BSc’67, LLB’70, LLD‘11) - Ottawa, Ontario 

For his distinguished career in government, business and private practice as one of the country’s leading competition and antitrust lawyers. 

John Robinson (BScE’66) - Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island

For their leadership in Prince Edward Island’s agriculture industry, and for their contributions to documenting local history in the community. 

Dr. Barbara Stymiest (DLitt’05) - Toronto, Ontario 

For her trailblazing efforts in Canada’s financial and business sectors, as well as for her mentorship and community engagement. 


Created in 1967, the Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. More than 7,000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order. 

Read more about the Order of Canada’s newest appointees.