UNB News
News and stories from one of Canada’s top universities

UNB announces 2023-24 Beaverbrook Scholars

Author: UNB Newsroom

Posted on Sep 22, 2023

Category: UNB Saint John , UNB Fredericton

The University of New Brunswick (UNB) is pleased to announce the 2023-24 recipients of the Beaverbrook Scholars Award: Vera Chen, Carlie Rogers and Analissa Salmon.

Valued at $50,000 over four years, the annual award is given to three outstanding graduates of New Brunswick high schools who display high academic ability, financial need and contribution to their communities.

“It is my pleasure to welcome these three impressive young people to the Beaverbrook Scholar family,” said Jamie Petrie, chair of the Beaverbrook Scholars Award committee. “For over 40 years, Beaverbrook Scholars have upheld the tradition of supporting others as we were once supported. With their academic excellence, strong leadership and civic engagement, Vera, Carlie and Analissa are a credit to their home province and to UNB.”

Chen, who is from New Maryland and a graduate of Fredericton High School (FHS), is an accomplished student with a diverse range of interests. She is a Canada Wide Science Fair medalist, New Brunswick Brain Bee champion and SHAD alumna. She is also an avid musician with Grade 10 music history and harmony certification from the Royal Conservatory of Music. She played violin in her school’s string band and was on the executive of the school’s emergency response team.

She is an avid volunteer and founder of a non-profit, Music 4 Youth, which hosts music workshops for young people with an emphasis on underrepresented groups, including girls and minority and LGBTQ+ youth. Her efforts were rewarded with a New Brunswick VIVE Youth Champion award in 2022. Chen is also a recipient of the 2021 Vimy Pilgrimage Award and president of Youth of New Brunswick. She began a bachelor of science degree program on UNB’s Fredericton campus in September.

Rogers, who is from Quispamsis and a graduate of Kennebecasis Valley High School (KVHS), was student body president and captain of the senior field hockey team. Rogers is a competitive dancer and three-time winner in musical theatre solo competition. She works part-time teaching dance to younger children and led the dance team at her school. Among her volunteer experience is work as a peer tutor, volunteer dance instructor and assisting at a church summer camp. Rogers began a bachelor of science in engineering degree program on UNB’s Fredericton campus in September.

Salmon, who is from Oromocto and a graduate of Oromocto High School (OHS), was a member of the grad class committee, badminton team and an executive member of her school's multicultural committee and its Black, Indigenous and People of Colour (BIPOC) committee. She has made numerous contributions to enhance her school and local community, including helping to organize her school's first senior citizen social, working with the residents of a local nursing home, and tutoring her fellow students, for which she was named OHS’s Student of the Month. Salmon began a bachelor of science degree program on UNB's Fredericton campus in September.

The Beaverbrook Scholarships have been awarded at UNB since 1920, when the scholarship program was initiated by Sir William Maxwell Aitken, first Baron Beaverbrook, PC, ONB. In 1979, former scholars came together to establish the modern Beaverbrook Scholars Awards in honour of their former benefactor, so they might continue his tradition of helping to shape future leaders.

The Beaverbrook Scholars Award, created and maintained by former Beaverbrook Scholars with support from the Beaverbrook Canadian Foundation, has awarded more than $3 million since 1981 to a total of 98 exceptional graduates of New Brunswick high schools who display high academic ability and financial need, and make extraordinary contributions to their communities. Together, the Beaverbrook Scholars are a strong network of leaders who have helped make change at the local, provincial and national levels.