UNB Saint John Athletics
Home of the Seawolves

Charlotte Knappe and Ryan Farrell Named UNB Saint John Student - Athletes of the Year

Author: S. Guimond

Posted on Apr 12, 2022

Category: Alumni , Soccer , Volleyball , Varsity Sports , SAAC , Basketball , ACAA

Saint John, New Brunswick- UNB Saint John held its 56th Annual Varsity Athletics Evening on Friday, April 8 to honour its student-athletes.  Women’s soccer defender, Charlotte Knappe and men’s volleyball left side hitter, Ryan Farrell were named the Female and Male Athletes of the Year

.Charlotte KnappeRyan Farrell

Quispamsis native Knappe was crucial to the Seawolves’ push to ACAA playoffs.  She faced-off with every striker and attacking midfielder in the league and won every battle.  “Charlotte was the main reason our team only conceded 13 goals this season,” says Seawolves women’s soccer head coach PJ Ward.  “Her understanding of the game and ease when playing allows her teammates to settle in and focus on what they need to do”.  Charlotte is a leader on and off the field who excels academically and volunteers with the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

In his fourth season with the Seawolves, Fredericton’s Ryan Farrell is one of the league’s leaders in kills, is a top defender and arguably one of the best overall players the Seawolves have ever had.  “Whether Ryan is practicing or competing, he plays at 110% of his effort all the time,” says Seawolves men’s volleyball head coach, Dino Karatzios. “As a coach, not only is it important to have a leader like Ryan who can teach others by example, it's also a privilege to coach a student-athlete of his caliber”. Farrell finished third in the ACAA with an impressive 131 kills overall and was named to the ACAA First All-Conference Team.  

The Dr. Ann Gorman Condon Academic Athletic Achievement Awards were presented to Kaitlyn Sears of the women’s volleyball team, and Jack Fury-Miller of the men’s basketball team for their outstanding athletic performance and dean’s list status.  Fourth-year Olds, Alberta native, Sears, is a perennial academic leader among varsity student-athletes.  She was a standout performer on the court, volunteered with Wolfpack volleyball and was a quiet leader amount her teammates.  She also volunteered with COVID-19 vaccination Clinics.  Saint John native Fury-Miller is the highest achieving Seawolf academically.  Athletically, he was one of the best players in the ACAA, setting the bar high for himself and for his teammates.  “To achieve excellence in both sport and academics requires tremendous skill, dedication and perseverance,” says Athletics Director David Munro.  “These qualities are also the foundation of what great community leaders are made of”.

Individual awards for each varsity team were awarded to student-athletes and presented by each head coach.  The winners were as follows:

Women’s Soccer                                              Name                                                    

Most Valuable Player                                      Charlotte Knappe

Rookie of the Year                                           Jocephine Splitgerber                                                                   


Men’s Soccer                                                   Name                                                   

Most Valuable Player                                      Nick Ellingwood

Rookie of the Year                                           Griffin Cassidy


Women’s Basketball                                        Name                                                             

Most Valuable Player                                      Hanna Grossman

Rookie of the Year                                           Bailey Henderson


Men’s Basketball                                             Name                                                            

Most Valuable Player                                     Jack Fury-Miller

Rookie of the Year                                           Aiden Connors


Women’s Volleyball                                        Name                                                       

Most Valuable Player                                     Kaitlyn Sears

Most Improved                                                 Emma Lynch


Men’s Volleyball                                             Name                                                           

Most Valuable Player                                     Ryan Farrell

“Mr. Big”                                                          Carson Dorcas

The full recipient list can be found here and photos can be found on the UNB Saint John Seawolves Facebook fan page.