UNB News
News and stories from one of Canada’s top universities

Nine new members appointed to UNB s Board of Governors

Author: Communications

Posted on Oct 25, 2016

Category: UNB Fredericton , UNB Saint John

Brian Baxter, chair of the Board of Governors for the University of New Brunswick, is pleased to announce the appointment of nine new members to the Board.

The nine individuals represent a wide range of interests and experiences. Among them are three UNB academics, two New Brunswick mayors, two UNB students, the CEO of a New Brunswick company, and a financial products expert.

UNB’s Board of Governors is a group of dedicated volunteers who are passionate about advancing UNB and work to successfully strengthen and build relationships with our internal and external stakeholders.

In accepting appointments, Board members assume substantial responsibilities, including the strategic oversight, risk management, mitigation and fiduciary responsibility of the institution. Additionally, the Board assesses the performance of the president and on the recommendation of the Fredericton and Saint John Senates approves educational programs and conferral of degrees.

The UNB community thanks the members who recently completed their terms: Jane Fritz, Brad Woodside, Mel Norton, Karen Taylor, Heather Neilson, Don Wright, Tom Goud, Kevin Collins, Julian Renaud, and Barry Cooper.

About the new Board members

George MacLean is vice-president academic and professor of political science at the University of New Brunswick. Dr. MacLean holds a PhD in international politics from Queen’s University, a master’s degree from McMaster University, and a bachelor of arts from Dalhousie University/University of King’s College. He is a specialist in international politics, focusing on foreign policy, political economy, and security.

Mike O’Brien is mayor of the City of Fredericton. He holds a bachelor of science in mechanical engineering from UNB. Mr. O’Brien worked for nearly 30 years at Alcool NB Liquor, developing and overseeing new energy management, warehousing, and supply chain processes. He served as interim president and CEO of the company before his retirement. Mr. O’Brien first became a city councillor in 2001 and served two terms as deputy mayor. Mr. O’Brien has served on a number of boards, including River Valley Health (now Horizon Health) and Enterprise Fredericton (now Ignite Fredericton). In 2016, he received the Citizenship Award from the New Brunswick Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists.

Don Darling is mayor of the City of Saint John and president of Don Darling Coaching and Consulting, which provides consulting relating to the housing industry. Mr. Darling has almost two decades of management and senior-level experience under his belt. He completed the Queen’s Executive Program at Queen’s University, which focuses on strategic thinking and planning, leading organizational change, negotiation and consensus building, and management fundamentals.

Norah Mallory is CEO of Fredericton- and Saint John-based Mallory Group Inc., a full-service marketing, public relations and government relations firm. Ms. Mallory received her bachelor of arts degree from UNB. She also received a bachelor of music degree from l'Université de Sherbrooke. As a business leader with more than 30 years of experience, she has worked and collaborated with all levels of government, national corporations, economic development agencies, post-secondary educational institutions, not-for-profits, environmental agencies, and small and medium-sized enterprises. Ms. Mallory has served on several local, provincial and national boards and is the current president of the UNB Associated Alumnae.

Penny Reid is vice-president of communications and marketing for TD Asset Management in Toronto. Ms. Reid earned her bachelor of business administration degree from UNB in 1991 and holds a master’s degree from McMaster University. She has more than 20 years of experience in marketing, communications and product management within the financial services sector in North America. Ms. Reid was previously a board member with Women in Capital Markets, Canada’s largest network of professional women in the field of capital markets.

Jennifer Andrews is a professor in the department of English on UNB’s Fredericton campus who teaches English-Canadian, American and Indigenous literatures. Dr. Andrews received her bachelor of arts from McGill University and her master of arts and PhD from the University of Toronto. Prior to joining UNB in 1999, she held a Fulbright Doctoral Fellowship and a SSHRC Postdoctoral Fellowship at the University of Arizona. Dr. Andrews served as department chair from 2013 to 2016 and was the secretary-treasurer and vice-president of the Canadian Chairs of English from 2014 to 2016. She is the author of two books and numerous academic articles.

Lisa Keeping-Burke is an associate professor in the department of nursing & health sciences on UNB's Saint John campus. She received her bachelor's and master’s degrees in nursing from Memorial University in Newfoundland and a PhD in nursing from McGill University. With almost 30 years of health care experience, Dr. Keeping-Burke is currently an educator and mentor to undergraduate and graduate students at UNB. In her program of research, she uses qualitative, quantitative and systematic review methodologies to explore chronic disease management for patients and families. Dr. Keeping-Burke is past treasurer of the Canadian Gerontological Nurses Association and current national research director of the Canadian Council of Cardiovascular Nurses.

Travis Daley is a leadership studies student at Renaissance College. He is president of the UNB Student Union, where he represents the interests of the nearly 6,000 undergraduate students on the Fredericton campus. He previously served as vice-president external of the student union, where he advocated on behalf of UNB students on local, provincial, and national stages. Additionally, he is the chair of the New Brunswick Student Alliance, which represents student issues on a provincial level. Mr. Daley also is a board member on the Maritime Provinces Higher Education Commission. The commission provides advice to ministers responsible for post-secondary education in the Maritimes and assists in enhancing the post-secondary learning environment.

Jesse Reid is a student senator at UNB Fredericton. He is a fifth-year computer science student from the Florenceville, N.B. area. Mr. Reid served as vice-president (internal) of the UNB Student Union in Fredericton in 2015-16 and has sat on several Senate committees (Nominating, Academic Planning, Bookstore Advisory, Student Standings & Promotions). He also served on the Senate Search Committee for Registrar, Fredericton campus. Mr. Reid sits on the Student Union Building Board of Directors and the Brunswickan Publishing Board.

Media contact: Heather Campbell