UNB News
News and stories from one of Canada’s top universities

UNB to grant two New Brunswickers with its highest honour at this year s fall convocation ceremonies

Author: Communications

Posted on Oct 13, 2015

Category: UNB Fredericton , UNB Saint John

The University of New Brunswick will grant honorary degrees to two worthy New Brunswickers who have given back to students on Oct. 22 and Oct. 23, 2015.

UNB will grant an honorary doctor of letters degrees to Barbara E. MacDonald during its 61st Fredericton Convocation on Oct. 22 and to Suzanne Irving at the Saint John campus’s 33rd Convocation on Oct. 23.

An active member of her community and supporter of UNB, Mrs. Irving received her bachelor of arts and bachelor of education degrees from Dalhousie University in Halifax, N.S. She is also a registered Radiology Technician.

Suzanne Irving served for three successive terms, from 1984 to 1993, on the University of New Brunswick Board of Governors. At that time, she was the first senate representative appointed to UNB Saint John by then president, James Downey.

Suzanne Irving supports the N.B. Museum, Union Club, Imperial Theatre, Symphony N.B. and Saint John High School. She and her children support the Mount Allison University annual Mansbridge Summit, the Saint John Regional Hospital Foundation, and the New Brunswick Medical Education Trust.

Suzanne Irving is a recipient of the Rotary Club Paul Harris Fellow Award for outstanding commitment to ‘service above self’.

Barbara MacDonald is a UNB alumna, chartered accountant and ambassador of UNB. Originally from Moncton, N.B., she graduated from UNB with a bachelor of administration degree, receiving the Lieutenant-Governor’s Silver Medal for the highest standing in the faculty.

She is a dedicated supporter of UNB, serving on the Campaign Cabinet for UNB’s Forging Our Futures and on UNB’s Board of Governors from 2005 to 2011, chairing the Audit Committee from 2006 to 2011. She remains an advisor to the committee. She has also served on the Faculty of Business Administration’s Advisory Council and received the Faculty’s Award of Achievement in 1998.

She continues to give back to UNB by supporting students. She established the MacDonald Scholarship in Nursing to assist students from New Brunswick in financial need.

Fredericton media contact: Natasha Ashfield

Saint John media contact: Heather Campbell

UNB news search