UNB News
News and stories from one of Canada’s top universities

UNB Fredericton celebrates teaching excellence

Author: Communications

Posted on Dec 6, 2013

Category: UNB Fredericton

Ten University of New Brunswick (UNB) faculty members on the Fredericton campus were recently celebrated for their commitment to teaching excellence.  The following faculty members were recognized for their role in providing an exceptional and transformative student experience.

Jasen Golding – Allan P. Stuart Award for Excellence in Teaching:  Mr. Golding is a senior instructor in the faculty of forestry and environmental management. He brings a unique outcomes-based approach to his classes, and allows the student to achieve mastery through multiple attempts and using different strategies.

Frank Collins – Neil Scott Award for Educational Leadership: Dr. Collins is a senior instructor in chemical engineering, and is currently the assistant dean of first year students in the faculty of engineering.  He focuses on the first year experience for engineering students, to promote a seamless transition from from high school to university.  He instituted the very successful “UNBetween” bridging program that provides a one-week boot camp for those who have been admitted to engineering, to prepare them for the rigour of the program, and provide them with tools for success.

Mark Hirschkorn – University Teaching Scholar:  Dr. Hirschkorn is an associate professor in the faculty of education where he focuses on science education.  He was involved in designing the central course in the B.Ed. program. He then led a research project to monitor the course’s implementation and effectiveness.  One of the teaching tips he recently shared with other faculty was “have both pedagogic and content reasons for everything you do in class.”

Faculty & Departmental Award Winners

Val Reeves – Science Faculty Teaching Award: Dr. Reeves is a senior instructor in the chemistry department, responsible for first year chemistry courses.

Rod Cooper – Computer Science Faculty Teaching Award: Dr. Cooper is a professor in the computer science faculty, teaching computer application development.

Ron Weed – Faculty of Arts Teaching Award: Dr. Weed is an associate professor in the philosophy department, specializing in ethics.

Bob Maher – Faculty of Business Administration Teaching Award: Dr. Maher is a professor in the faculty of business administration, specializing in accounting.

John McEvoy – Faculty of Law Teaching Award: Dr. McEvoy is a professor in the faculty of law, specializing in constitutional law, human rights law, aboriginal peoples, and private international law.

Brian Lowry – Golden Apple Award from Chemical Engineering: Dr. Lowry is an associate professor in the chemical engineering department, teaching design and materials science.

Eric Hildebrand – Eric Garland Excellence in Teaching Award from Civil Engineering: Dr. Hildebrand is a professor in the engineering faculty, focusing on transportation and traffic engineering.

UNB news search