News at the University of New Brunswick

Katherine Murray receives David H Walker Prize for fiction

Author: Communications

Posted on Jul 16, 2012

Category: UNB Fredericton

Katherine Murray wins the David H. Walker Prize for Fiction

The department of english is proud to announce that this year's winner of the David H. Walker Prize for Fiction is Katherine Murray for her short story “A Compassionate Retelling.”

The David H. Walker Prize, worth $1000, has been awarded each year since 1997 to the best work of short fiction by a UNB graduate or undergraduate student.

The prize is in honour of the powerful and prolific writer David H. Walker. He was born in Scotland, but eventually settled in St. Andrews, New Brunswick, with hiswife Willa.  He published a number of books, including The Storm and the Silence (1949); Geordie (1950); Digby (1953); Harry Black (1956); Sandy was a Soldier’s Boy (1957); Where the High Winds Blow (1960); Storms of Our Journey (1962); Dragon Hill (1962); Winter of Madness (1964); Mallabec (1965); Devil’s Plunge (1968); Big Ben (1969); Pirate Rock (1969); The Lord’s Pink Ocean (1972); Black Dougal (1973); Ash (1976); Pot of Gold (1977); and his autobiography Lean, Wind, Lean (1984).

The prize has been won by a number of writers who have gone on to great success, including Craig Davidson, Emily Ruskovich, Darryl Whetter, Tony Antoniades,Marla Becking, Sue Sinclair, Erin Knight, Catherine Greenwood, Danny Jacobs, and Adam Dickinson.