News at the University of New Brunswick

2011 A great year of teaching at UNB

Author: Communications

Posted on Dec 20, 2011

Category: In the Media

Thirteen outstanding teachers at the University of New Brunswick in Fredericton were recognized this year for their commitment to post-secondary education, dedication to students, and teaching excellence.

Among the 2011 award winners are Diana Austin, a professor in the Faculty of Arts who was recognized at the national level with a 3M national teaching fellowship, and John Grant McLoughlin, a professor in the Faculty of Education who received the University Teaching Scholar Award. Dennis Lovely, a professor in the department of electrical and computer engineering won the UNB Student Union’s annual teaching award.

The 2011 faculty or department award recipients include: James Tong, Ryan Hamilton, Robert Maher, Natalie Webber, Vanessa MacDonnell, Daniel Coleman, William Cook, Andy Simoneau, Eric Hildebrand and Lanette Ruff.

Professors in Fredericton are nominated by UNB students through the Centre for Enhanced Teaching and Learning (CETL) or the UNB Student Union.

“As we reviewed all the nominations, we couldn’t help but be impressed with so many great stories of amazing teaching at UNB,” CETL Director Ken Reimer said. “It was like each nomination somehow topped the last, making it very hard to choose the winners.”

The first annual award reception to celebrate the contributions and accomplishments of the professors was held in November. Reimer said he hopes it will become a tradition at UNB as the university strives to provide students with an exceptional and transformative learning experience.

For more information, visit: 

Media contact: 

Jennifer Gavin
Communications & Marketing
University of New Brunswick