News at the University of New Brunswick

UNB Faculty of Computer Science to Honour Students

Author: Communications

Posted on Nov 2, 2011

Category: Events , UNB Fredericton , myUNB

The University of New Brunswick’s Faculty of Computer Science in Fredericton will honour dean’s list students, along with the winners of student prizes, scholarships, bursaries and other awards during its upcoming 2011 awards ceremony. The ceremony will take place on Wednesday, Nov. 9, at the Fredericton Convention Centre. The evening starts with a reception at 6 p.m., followed by dinner and awards ceremony at 7 p.m. Over 230 students, parents, industry leaders, government officials, and friends of the faculty will be in attendance at this celebration of excellence. UNB’s Faculty of Computer Science is the first computer science faculty in Canada and is a pioneer in the area of information and communication technology (ICT) in Atlantic Canada. It also has the oldest and most successful co-op program in Atlantic Canada, and is pushing the boundaries to become one of the finest computing science faculties in Canada. There are more than 420 students in the Faculty of Computer Science, 39 of whom are PhD students. The event honours many students for their achievements and highlights their accomplishments. With industry leaders Gerry Pond, Julia MacLauchlan, and Warren McKenzie as the keynote speakers, the night also celebrates the importance of collaboration with industry and government to meet the growing demand for qualified ICT professionals. For more information on the awards ceremony, or UNB’s computing science programs, contact Dr. Ali Ghorbani, Faculty of Computer Science, at (506) 458-7265 or, or by visiting