myUNB News
News for Faculty and Staff

Election of Faculty Members-at-Large to Saint John Senate-SJ

Author: myUNB News

Posted on May 23, 2018

Category: News and Notices

On May 4, 2018, a call for nominations to fill three (3) of the nine (9) Faculty Member-at-Large seats on the Saint John Senate was circulated to all Faculty on the Saint John campus.

The following three (3) nominees have agreed to allow their names to stand for election to the Saint John Senate:        

    •  Phil Backman, Faculty of Science, Applied Science & Engineering       
    •  Thierry Chopin, Faculty of Science, Applied Science & Engineering         
    •  JP Lewis, Faculty of Arts

As there are three (3) nominations to fill three (3) vacancies, I hereby declare Phil Backman, Thierry Chopin, and JP Lewis elected as Faculty Members-at-Large to the Saint John Senate by acclamation. The term of office will be 1 July 2018 to 30 June 2021. I invite all members of the campus community to join in expressing appreciation to the newly elected Senators for their willingness to serve in this important capacity.

Sarah DeVarenne
Senate Secretary

Article Contact Information

Contact: Elizabeth Flemming

Email Address: