myUNB News
News for Faculty and Staff

CETL Offers Diploma in University Teaching Program-FR

Author: myUNB News

Posted on Feb 22, 2018

Category: News and Notices

The Centre for Enhanced Teaching and Learning is once again offering the Diploma in University Teaching Program (DUT) for the summer term, 2018.  Below is the schedule of classes and a brief description of the program.

2018 Summer Term:  May 5 - 26, 2018.

DUT will be held on Saturdays from 9 a.m. - 2:30 p.m. and Tuesdays to Thursdays from 4 - 6:30 p.m. in Marshall d'Avray Hall, Room 334-1. Please bring your own lunch for our Saturday sessions.

NOTE:  The will be no classes on Saturday, May 12 or Saturday, May 19.

  • Saturday, May 5:  9 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, May 8:  4 - 6:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, May 9:  4 - 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 10:  4- 6:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, May 15:  4 - 6:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, May 16:  4 - 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 17:  4 - 6:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday, May 22:  4 - 6:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday, May 23:  4 - 6:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, May 24:  4 - 6:30 p.m.
  • Saturday, May 26:  9 a.m. - 2:30 p.m.

The primary goal of the Diploma in University Teaching is to help participating graduate students, faculty members and contract instructors develop the knowledge, skills and attitudes that will enable them to:

  • Increase their competence in the teaching-learning process and in instructional design;
  • Understand the diversity in students' needs and learning characteristics;
  • Understand the characteristics of the teaching-learning environment that promote effective learning; and
  • Develop attitudes and skills that value ongoing professional development related to teaching.

For more information, please contact CETL at 453-4704 or email Susan Pugh at spugh@unb.ca or Peter Gross at pgross@unb.ca.  The deadline to register for summer term is May 2, 2018.  Program cost is $350 for UNB participants and $665 for non-UNB affiliates, due at time of registration (cash, cheque and debit are accepted).  Registration is at the College of Extended Learning, Wu Conference Centre.

Article Contact Information

Contact: Susan Pugh

Email Address: spugh@unb.ca