UNB News
News and stories from one of Canada’s top universities

UNB Announces 2024-25 Beaverbrook Scholars

Author: UNB Newsroom

Posted on Jun 17, 2024

Category: Press Releases

Audrey Cho, Zoe Landry and Hannah Swan

The University of New Brunswick is pleased to announce the 2024-25 recipients of the Beaverbrook Scholars Award.

Valued at $56,000 over four years, the Beaverbrook Scholars Award is awarded annually to three outstanding graduates of New Brunswick high schools who display high academic ability, financial need, and contribution to their communities. This year’s recipients are Audrey Cho, Zoe Landry and Hannah Swan.

Audrey Cho is a student at Harbour View High School in Saint John, where she is vice-president of the school’s Climate Action club and is president of Best Buddies, a club that matches teens with peers who have intellectual disabilities. She was a 2023 Imagine NB youth delegate, working with the New Brunswick Multicultural Council to engage youth in global citizenry. Cho reestablished the school’s debate team after the pandemic, coaching fellow debaters and competing at the provincial and national levels. In late May, she will represent New Brunswick at the Canadian National Debate Championships. She will begin the bachelor of science degree program at UNB Fredericton in September.

Zoe Landry is a student at Bathurst High School, where she is co-president of the student council. A prolific volunteer, Landry is a member of the youth council for the city of Bathurst, working to keep teenagers involved in her community, and has spent many hours working with local elementary students to build their literacy and writing skills. In 2023, she represented her school on the national level as a spirit leader at the Canadian Student Leadership Conference. Landry will begin the bachelor of philosophy in interdisciplinary leadership degree program in September at UNB Fredericton’s Renaissance College.

Hannah Swan is a student at Fredericton High School, where she is homeroom representative on the student council. She is also an executive member of the school emergency response team and a volunteer with Kat’s Kitchen, the school’s food support program for students. Outside of school, Swan works as a support worker for children with special needs and is a member and volunteer with St. John Ambulance. She will begin the bachelor of nursing degree program at UNB Fredericton in September.

“I extend a warm welcome to Audrey, Hannah, and Zoe as they join the Beaverbrook Scholar family. For more than four decades, Beaverbrook Scholars have proudly upheld the tradition of supporting others as we were once supported. With their strong leadership, civic engagement and academic excellence, these extraordinary young achievers represent the best of New Brunswick and of UNB,” said Blair Kennedy, chair of the Beaverbrook Scholars Award committee.

The Beaverbrook Scholarships at the University of New Brunswick have been awarded since 1920, when the scholarship program was initiated by Sir William Maxwell Aitken, 1st Baron Beaverbrook, PC, ONB. In 1979, former scholars came together to establish the modern Beaverbrook Scholars Awards in honour of their former benefactor, so they might continue his tradition of helping to shape future leaders.

The Beaverbrook Scholars Award is maintained by former Beaverbrook Scholars with support from the Beaverbrook Canadian Foundation. Since 1981, more than $3 million has been awarded to a total of 101 exceptional graduates of New Brunswick high schools who display high academic ability and financial need, and make extraordinary contributions to their communities. Together, the Beaverbrook Scholars are a strong network of leaders, making change at the local, provincial and national levels.

Photo caption (left to right): Audrey Cho, Zoe Landry and Hannah Swan.

Media contact: Kathleen McLaughlin, Media Relations Strategist at talktous@unb.ca.