UNB News
News and stories from one of Canada’s top universities

UNB announces Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholarship recipients for 2022-23

Author: UNB Newsroom

Posted on Jul 5, 2022

Category: UNB Saint John

The University of New Brunswick (UNB) is proud to announce the 2022 recipients of the Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholarship at UNB’s Saint John campus. This year’s recipients are Kiersten Hamilton, Morgan Haslett, Katelyn LeBlanc, Ava Yerxa and Ruhamma Zaheeb.

The Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholarship, valued at $40,000 over four years, recognizes outstanding students for their academic achievement, community involvement and athletic leadership. The scholarship is supported by Arthur Irving, O.C., O.N.B. (DLitt’09), and Sandra Irving, C.M. (BA'95, DLitt‘09). 

“For more than two decades, the Arthur and Sandra Irving Primrose Scholarships have rewarded outstanding leadership by top high school students entering the University of New Brunswick in Saint John,” said Dr. Paul J. Mazerolle, UNB’s president and vice-chancellor. “UNB is proud of our deep and longstanding friendship with Sandra and Arthur Irving, and we are honoured by their continued generosity to our community’s future leaders.” 

“We are so pleased to welcome Kiersten, Morgan, Katelyn, Ava and Ruhamma to our community of Primrose Scholars,” said Sandra Irving. “We look forward to following their journey over the next four years and beyond, as they continue to develop academically and as community leaders and make a meaningful impact in their communities.”

Kiersten Hamilton of Boom Road is a graduate of Miramichi Valley High School. An avid athlete, Hamilton played high school hockey, volleyball, field hockey, and track and field. Among her volunteer endeavours are coaching minor hockey and working at a local senior’s complex.

Morgan Haslett of Saint John is a graduate of Centre scolaire Samuel-de-Champlain, where she was a member of the student council and the grad class committee. Outside of school, Haslett has represented Team NB in speed skating, sailing, and triathlon. She volunteers as an instructor with the Saint John Amateur Speed Skating Club.

Katelyn LeBlanc of West Quaco graduated as valedictorian of Simonds High School, where she was co-president of the student council. In addition to various clubs and activities, LeBlanc played high school volleyball, softball and hockey. She volunteers as a caretaker of the West Quaco Cemetery. 

Fredericton’s Ava Yerxa is a graduate of Fredericton High School, where she was involved with numerous clubs, including the positive action committee. She has volunteered with the Fredericton Botanic Garden and Greener Village and participated for several years in competitive dance.

Ruhamma Zaheeb of Saint John graduated from Harbour View High School, where she was vice-president of the grad class executive and editor of the yearbook. Leader of her school’s climate action club, she was also co-president of the school’s chapter of Best Buddies, an international organization promoting friendships and inclusion. Among her numerous volunteer organizations are the NB Youth Voice Committee, Hillcrest Village senior’s centre, and the Imagine NB advisory committee. 

All five of this year’s Primrose Scholars are enrolled in the bachelor of health degree program at UNB Saint John. Unique in Canada, the bachelor of health is a four-year interdisciplinary program focusing on all aspects of health, with core courses covering the biological and social determinants of health, current health issues and the management of healthcare services.

Media contact: Kelsey Pye
Photos: (L-R) Katelyn LeBlanc, Keirsten Hamilton, Morgan Haslett, Ava Yerxa and Ruhamma Zaheeb.