UNB News
News and stories from one of Canada’s top universities

UNB announces 2022 Beaverbrook Scholars

Author: UNB Newsroom

Posted on Jun 29, 2022

Category: UNB Fredericton , UNB Saint John

The University of New Brunswick is proud to announce the 2022 recipients of the Beaverbrook Scholars Award, rewarding New Brunswick’s most exceptional students for their academic abilities and community involvement. This year’s recipients are Mary Debly, Dominique Drost and Hearty Uy.

The Beaverbrook Scholars Award is valued at $50,000 over four years and is awarded to outstanding New Brunswick high school graduates pursuing undergraduate degree programs at UNB. 

Mary Debly comes to UNB from Saint John and is a graduate of Simonds High School. She was on the student council throughout high school and was captain of the field hockey team in grades 10–12. Her volunteer experience includes church events and helping at school functions such as the annual haunted house and Remembrance Day ceremonies. Debly has been practising karate since 2011 and has attained the designation of sensei, or teacher. She will begin a bachelor of arts degree on UNB’s Saint John campus in September. 

Dominique Drost of Douglas is a graduate of Leo Hayes High School. Co-president and treasurer of the student council, she also runs cross country, leads the science club executive and is both a peer mentor and a peer tutor. Drost has volunteered with her church and with the Phoenix Learning Centre, a drop-in centre for people experiencing homelessness, and works part-time refereeing volleyball. She will begin a bachelor of science degree in kinesiology in September on UNB’s Fredericton campus.

Hearty Uy of Richibucto graduated as class valedictorian from Bonar Law Memorial High School, where she played basketball and participated in the drama club and the yearbook committee. She has volunteered with community garbage pickups and tutored her fellow students, and has assisted with school events such as the telethon, the Walk for Ukraine and student canteen. Uy will begin a bachelor of nursing degree in September on UNB’s Fredericton campus.

The Beaverbrook Scholarships have been awarded at the University of New Brunswick since 1920. The scholarship program was initiated by Sir William Maxwell Aitken, 1st Baron Beaverbrook, PC, ONB to help shape future leaders. In 1979, former scholars worked together to establish the modern-day Beaverbrook Scholars Awards in honour of their former benefactor, so that they might continue the tradition of helping shape future leaders as he had done. 

“For over 40 years, Beaverbrook Scholars have upheld the tradition of supporting others as we were once supported. These three impressive young people, with their strong leadership, academic excellence and civic engagement, are a credit to their communities and to UNB. It is my pleasure to welcome them to the Beaverbrook Scholar family,” said Jamie Petrie, chair of the Beaverbrook Scholars Award committee.

The Beaverbrook Scholars Award, created and maintained by former Beaverbrook Scholars with support from the Beaverbrook Canadian Foundation, has awarded more than $3 million since 1981 to a total of 95 exceptional graduates of New Brunswick high schools who display high academic ability and financial need, and make extraordinary contributions to their communities. The Beaverbrook Scholars are a strong network of leaders who have helped institute important advancements in many local, provincial and national sectors.

Media contact: Kelsey Pye

Photos: Mary Debly, Dominique Drost and Hearty Uy