News at the University of New Brunswick

UNB professors receive Teaching Innovation Award

Author: UNB Newsroom

Posted on Jan 6, 2021

Category: myUNB , UNB Fredericton

Dr. Arash Lashkari and Renee Gordon have received UNB’s Teaching Innovation Award for their creative approaches to instruction.

Dr. Lashkari, from the faculty of computer science at UNB Fredericton, and Ms. Gordon, with the faculty of nursing at UNB’s Moncton site, were selected as the recipients by the university’s Senates Teaching Awards Committee. The bi-campus body, chaired by Ken Reimer, director of the Centre for Enhanced Teaching & Learning, determines award recipients based on nominations from students and colleagues, as well as submission details of innovative teaching practice.

“We are proud of these teaching award winners who have gone above and beyond to the point where their innovative teaching is recognized by students and peers. The Teaching Award Committee determines the award recipients based on the impact on student learning, the originality of the approach, and looking for evidence of effectiveness and the ability to expand the innovation to others within the institution and beyond,” says Mr. Reimer.

Dr. Lashkari received the award for his new teaching technique, Think-Quecussion, used to raise student curiosity. Ms. Gordon received the award for a new virtual-conceptual learning activity which encourages the development of clinical reasoning and clinical judgement.

Congratulations to Dr. Lashkari and Ms. Gordon for their achievements.

Media contact: Kelsey Pye