UNB News
News and stories from one of Canada’s top universities

Sir Howard Douglas Scholars inducted at UNB

Author: UNB Newsroom

Posted on Apr 3, 2018

Category: UNB Fredericton , UNB Saint John

2018 Sir Howard Douglas Scholars

Involvement in their university and community plus excellent grades have earned 12 University of New Brunswick students the distinction of being inducted into the Sir Howard Douglas Society.

The award recipients volunteer their time and talent in a number of ways, both locally and internationally, and are all dean’s list students.

“Our students are the problem-solvers of today and tomorrow,” says UNB President Eddy Campbell. “The Sir Howard Douglas Scholars are a shining example of what can be achieved through dedication, compassion, and a willingness to help others. At an early stage in their lives, these students are already making a difference.”

Nominated by their faculties, the scholars must have completed at least two years of their bachelor’s degree program, achieved academic excellence and actively participated in co-curricular or extracurricular activities.

At a dinner in their honour on March 26, Dr. David Scott, associate professor in the faculty of kinesiology at UNB, addressed the 2018 scholars.

Members of the Sir Howard Douglas Society have the opportunity to participate in special university events and become part of a network of outstanding students. As the honour society grows each year, new members will have the opportunity to meet and interact with past recipients of the Sir Howard Douglas Award.

Born in Scotland, Sir Howard Douglas served as lieutenant governor of New Brunswick from 1823 to 1831. During his term, he encouraged development, sought support for native peoples, improved communications and promoted education. Sir Howard was a founder and the first chancellor of King’s College Fredericton, predecessor to UNB.

Established in 2006, the Sir Howard Douglas Society of Scholars has 228 members, including this year’s inductees.

Media contact: Cody Peters

Photo: University of New Brunswick students were inducted into the Sir Howard Douglas Society for their academic achievement and active participation in extracurricular activities. Back row from left Jaymee Brianna Parker, Richard Du, Jordan Michael Tracey, Kenya Plut, Kristian D’Amore, Patrick Joseph Marc Savie and Ryan L. Smith. Front row from left Khoi Thien Dao, Hilary Perry, Ahmed Eldesoky, Elizabeth Rowe and Lua Samimi.